The Mighty UpsetterThe Mighty Upsetter - Lee Perry

CD: Beat Records (Japan) BRC-200
CD: On U Sound (UK)
Produced by Adrian Sherwood, Lee Perry and Jazzwad

01. Exercising
02. International Broadcaster (featuring Roots Manuva)
03. Kilimanjaro
04. Rockhead
05. Lucky Charm
06. Political Confusion
07. Yellow Tongue (featuring Samia Farah)
08. Lee's Garden
09. Everything Start From Scratch
10. God Smiled
11. Speak The Truth
12. Queen Elizabeth's Pum Pum (bonus track on Japanese release only)

The Mighty Upsetter is a warm, eclectic, and very enjoyable set of songs that stands out as something special. Working with Adrian Sherwood again for the first time since From The Secret Laboratory (1990) , Scratch hasn't sounded this good or focused for years. The album is a snapshot of the present as well as an x-ray of the past, with musical echoes of classic Black Ark works sampled and re-created throughout, juxtaposed with Sherwood's crisp and spacious production. From playful ("International Broadcaster") to serious ("Yellow Tongues") to dread ("Speak The Truth"), this is an album that is musically and lyrically rich with light, shadow and lots of colour.

See also Dubsetter.

« Back to the Albums index