Party TimeParty Time - The Heptones

LP: Island ILPS9546
LP: Hep Hep DSR4094
CD: Island 539 456-2
CD: Palm Pictures

01. Party Time
02. Crying Over You
03. Now Generation
04. Mr. President
05. Serious Time
06. I Shall Be Released
07. Storm Cloud
08. Road Of Live
09. Why Must I
10. Sufferer's Time

You know the way the air feels after a huge summer thunderstorm and the sun starts shining again while thunder rumbles in the distance? That's the mood of this album, one of Lee Perry's finest productions. The Heptones are at their finest as they sing militant and melancholy songs over Perry's dense rhythms. Highlights include the title track, a Rasta-influenced cover of Bob Dylan's "I Shall Be Released", the menacing "Storm Cloud", and the determined "Road Of Life". Essential listening.

« Back to the Albums index