20th Century MastersReturn Of The Super Ape - The Upsetters

LP: Lion Of Judah LPIR0001
LP: Upsetters LPIR0001

01. Dyon Anaswa - Full Experience
02. Return Of The Super Ape - Lee Perry
03. Tell Me Something Good - Upsetters
04. Bird In Hand - Sam Carty
05. Crab Yars - Upsetters
06. Jah Jah Ah Natty Dread - Lee Perry
07. Psyche And Trim - Lee Perry
08. The Lion - Upsetters
09. Huzza A Hana - Lee Perry
10. High Ranking Sammy - Lee Perry

Return Of The Super Ape is perhaps the spookiest album from the Black Ark – if the vivid cover art doesn't tip you off, the music will. Jammed with violent sound effects, jazz riffs, exotic vocals and a surreal atmosphere, this album is a must. As David Katz writes in People Funny Boy, Return of The Super Ape is "...[a] complex and experimental work and is indicative of how far Perry's creations were from reggae's mainstream." Highlights include the menacing "Return Of The Super Ape", the fierce "Jah Jah Ah Natty Dread" and the rocking "Huzza A Hana". Unfortunately, sound quality is a problem on almost every release of this album; the best quality can be found on the Trojan collection Ape-Ology.

« Back to the Albums index