LP: Upsetter LP8108
Produced by Lee Perry

01. Dread Lion
02. Zion's Blood
03. Three In One
04. Curly Dub
05. Patience Dub
06. Super Ape
07. Croaking Lizard
08. Black Vest
09. Underground Root
10. Dub Along

Scratch The Super Ape was the original Jamaican release of Super Ape, an outstanding album of epochal Black Ark rhythms and haunting vocals. Often overlooked or mistaken for a dub album, Super Ape contains some of Perry's finest work as a producer. It's an amazing album that gets better and more intricate with each listen. Highlights include the solemn "Zion's Blood", the ganja cloud toasting of Prince Jazzbo on "Croaking Lizard", and the ethereal "Dread Lion". Essential listening. Note that this Upsetter pressing features a different track order and some slightly different titles.

See also Super Ape.

« Back to the Albums index