LP: Wildflower ILPS9392
LP: Island ILPS9392
CD: Mango 162 539 392-2

1. One Step Forward
2. Uptown Babies Don't Cry
3. Chase The Devil
4. War Ina Babylon
5. Norman
6. Stealing In The Name Of Jah
7. Tan And See
8. Smokey Room
9. Smile Out A Style

War Ina Babylon is simply one of reggae's finest moments. Along with The Heptones' Party Time and Junior Murvin's Police And Thieves, this album can be seen as part of a Black Ark "holy trinity". This album is perhaps the strongest of the three, with passionate vocals, powerful songwriting, and Scratch's expert hand at the mixing board. Max and Scratch shared a common vision when it came to music, and you can certainly hear that in every groove of this album. Highlights include the moving "Uptown Babies Don't Cry", the militant "Chase The Devil", and the film noir reggae of "Norman". Essential listening.

« Back to the Albums index