CD: Island CRNCD 6/524 379-2

Reel One: Dub Organiser
01. Dub Revolution (Part One) - Lee Perry & The Upsetters
02. One Step Forward - Max Romeo
03. One Step Dub - The Upsetters
04. Vampire - Devon Irons
05. Vampire Dub - The Upsetters
06. Sufferer's Time - Heptones
07. Sufferer's Dub - The Upsetters
08. Sufferer's Heights - Junior Dread
09. Don't Blame On I - The Congos
10. Much Smarter - Meditations
11. Much Smarter Dub - The Upsetters
12. Life Is Not Easy - The Meditations
13. Life Is Not Easy Dub - The Upsetters
14. Tedious - Junior Murvin
15. War Ina Babylon - Max Romeo
16. Revelation Dub - The Upsetters
17. Mr. President - The Heptones & Jah Lion
18. Chase The Devil - Max Romeo

Reel Two: Dub Shepherd
01. Dreadlocks In Moonlight - Lee Perry
02. Dread At The Mantrols - Mikey Dread
03. In These Times - Errol Walker
04. In These Times Dub - The Upsetters
05. Norman (extended 'Domino' mix) - Max Romeo w/ Jah Lion
06. Police And Thieves - Junior Murvin
07. Magic Touch - Glen DaCosta
08. Soldier And Police War - Jah Lion
09. Grumblin' Dub - The Upsetters
10. Bad Weed - Junior Murvin
11. John Public - Errol Walker
12. John Public Version - Enos Barnes & Errol Walker
13. Roots Train (Discomix) - Junior Murvin & Dillinger
14. No Peace - Meditations
15. No Peace Dub - The Upsetters
16. Rasta Train - Raphael Green & Dr. Alimantado
17. Party Time (Part 2) - The Upsetters

Reel Three: Dub Adventurer
01. Vibrate On - Augustus Pablo Meets The Upsetter
02. Vibrator - The Upsetters
03. Bird In Hand - The Upsetters
04. Congoman - The Congos
05. Dyon Anasawa - The Upsetters & Full Experience
06. Rastaman Shuffle - The Upsetters & Dillinger
07. Why Must I Version - The Heptones & Lee Perry
08. Make Up Your Mind - The Heptones
09. Closer Together - Upsetter Revue featuring Junior Murvin
10. Groovy Situation - Keith Rowe
11. Groovy Dub - The Upsetters
12. To Be A Lover - George Faith
13. Soul Fire - Lee Perry
14. Curly Locks - Lee Perry
15. Feast Of The Passover - The Congos
16. Roast Fish And Cornbread - Lee Perry
17. Corn Fish Dub - The Upsetters

Arkology is an anthology of Black Ark tracks collected and annotated by Perry experts Steve Barrow and David Katz. It's an absolutely essential collection for both old and new Lee Perry fans. A 52 page booklet is included, featuring a biography of Perry nicely punctuated by many unpublished interview quotes, an annotated track listing, and terrific photos. While the material on Arkology doesn't always represent the Black Ark at it's heaviest (for that you need Trojan's Open The Gate and Build The Ark collections), all of the music here chronicles some of Scratch's finest moments as a producer.

Reel One starts off with "Dub Revolution", where Perry promises some music "that rocks the nation", a perfect way to begin the set. It rolls on with some classic roots tunes, "One Step Forward", "Vampire", and "Sufferer's Time", each followed by their heavy dub versions. The first revelation of the set is an unreleased Congos song, "Don't Blame On I", quickly followed by the fantastic "Much Smarter" by The Meditations. Jah Lion joins the Heptones on "Mr. President", and Max Romeo's "Chase The Devil" provides a dread conclusion to Reel One. However, we have only begun our trip to the heart of the Ark.

Reel Two contains many of the best tracks on Arkology and is therefore the strongest CD of the set. It's an amazing series of tunes, starting off with a personal favourite, "Dreadlocks In Moonlight", Perry's restrained attack on hypocrites and weakhearts. Perhaps the most stunning song on the CD, the film noir reggae of Max Romeo's "Norman", is included in the extended "domino" mix featuring Jah Lion as a card sharp and an amazing, dubbed up second half. An incredible rhythm shower based on the "Police & Thieves" rhythm dominates Reel Two, showing how Perry was able to build many songs on the same foundation, each one being as strong as the last. Just when you thought the rhythm had been stretched out enough, Junior's heavy "Bad Weed" takes it one step further. Other highlights include the magnificent nine minute "Roots Train" by Junior Murvin and the very clever "John Public" by Errol Walker.

Reel Three is where the more esoteric selections on Arkology find a home. The first half is brilliant, with alternate cuts of Augustus Pablo's amazing "Vibrate On" and its dub companion "Vibrator" followed by the strange "Bird In Hand" by The Upsetters and the shimmering "Congoman" by The Congos. Other revelations include a version of "Party Time" with Scratch himself doing some berserk DJ-ing over the rhythm, and an unreleased track from The Heptones, the gorgeous "Make Up Your Mind". The massive set concludes with an alternate version of the outer space "Roast Fish And Cornbread" and its mind-bending dub.

« Back to the Compilations index