CD: Heartbeat 11661-7752-2

01. Ketch Vampire - Devon Irons
02. Full Experience - Full Experience
03. Baffling Smoke Signal - Lee Perry
04. Down Here In Babylon - Brent Dowe
05. Natty Take Over - The Upsetters
06. Lizard Stick - The Upsetters
07. Ark Of The Covenant - The Congos
08. Set Up Yourself - The Upsetters
09. Garden Of Life - Leroy Sibbles
10. Feast Of The Passover - The Congos
11. Reggae Music - Hugh Blackwood & Dr. Alimantado
12. I Was Appointed - Junior Murvin

The third volume in Heartbeat's Upsetter Shop series is perhaps the best, with an excellent selection of prime and late Black Ark tracks. The collection contains a mixture of previously unreleased and alternate mixes, so even though tracks like "Ketch Vampire" and "Down Here In Babylon" might seem redundant, they are - in fact - something new. Highlights include Jah Lion's dread "Natty Take Over" (credited to The Upsetters), the funky instrumental "Lizard Stick" and the devastating "Garden Of Life" by Leroy Sibbles. Then there is the mesmerizing "Reggae Music" by Hugh Blackwood and Dr. Alimantado: a nine-minute excursion on the "Vibrate On" rhythm. Highly recommended.

« Back to the Compilations index