Enter The ArkEnter The Ark

CD: Ascension ANCD023

01. Shocks Of Mighty - Bob Marley & Lee Perry
02. Shocks Almighty Mix 2 - Bob Marley & Lee Perry
03. Shocks Almighty Vocal/Dub Mix - Bob Marley & Lee Perry
04. More Axe - Bob Marley
05. More More Axe - Bob Marley
06. Shoulder To The Wheel - Flying Sensations
07. Earth Ago Wheel - The Upsetters
08. Bring It Up - The Soulettes
09. Cost Of Living - Keithis
10. Poor Man Dub - The Upsetters
11. Weak Heart Feel It - Shaumark & Robinson
12. Take Heed - Armageddeans
13. Ethiopia - Carol Cole & Sister P
14. Ethiopia Dub - The Upsetters

Enter The Ark is a great collection of Black Ark rarities with an interesting twist: many of these tunes are "straight" recordings that were not given their final mix by Scratch. Most likely lifted straight from the master tapes, they definitely have the Black Ark sound but haven't been subjected to the famous echo and phasing that Scratch was famous for. Enter The Ark contains more or less the best material from the controversial Jet Star box set Lost Treasures Of The Ark and is a better choice if you can find it. Everything except for the early Bob Marley tunes date from 1978 – more or less the final days of the Black Ark – giving these tunes a mysterious and esoteric vibe.

« Back to the Compilations index