Heart Of The ArkHeart Of The Ark

LP: Seven Leaves SLLP1
CD: Seven Leaves SLCD1

1. I've Never Had It So Good - Bunny Scott
2. What's The Use - Bunny Scott
3. Don't Be Afraid - George Faith
4. Forward With Love - Mystic Eyes
5. Rasta Far I - Leroy Sibbles
6. Rasta Far I - Combination 2
7. Four And Twenty Dreadlocks - Prodical
8. Nuh Fe Run Down - Lee Perry
9. Elaine - Mystic Eyes

Heart Of The Ark is a great collection of lesser known Black Ark songs. Highlights include George Faith's soulful "Don't Be Afraid", Leroy Sibbles' heavy duty "Rasta Far I" and the wonderful "Forward With Love" by Mystic Eyes. Some reggaeologist corrections: "I've Never Had It So Good" is actually by Jimmy Riley, "Four And Twenty Dreadlocks" is actually by Evans Jones, and an unknown vocalist sings "Nuh Fe Run Down", credited to Lee Perry.

See also Heart Of The Ark Vol. 2 and Larks From The Ark.

« Back to the Compilations index