CD: Attack CDAT108

01. Public Jestering - Judge Winchester
02. I'm A Dread Locks - The Upsetters
03. Dread Locks Version - The Upsetters
04. Stay Dread - Lee Perry
05. Kingdom Of Dub - The Upsetters
06. Babylon Deh Pon Fire - Truth Fact & Correct
07. Jungle Fever - Truth Fact & Correct
08. Hypocrites - Jimmy & Glen
09. Nine Finger Jerry Lewis - Jimmy & Glen
10. Black Candle - Leo Graham
11. Bad Lamp - The Upsetters
12. Doctor Demand - Leo Graham
13. Black Bat - The Upsetters
14. Big Tongue Buster - Leo Graham
15. Bus A Dub - The Upsetters
16. Herb Vendor - Horse Mouth
17. Penny Reel - Prince Jazzbo

Public Jestering is a terrific collection - one of the best you can get, and one of my personal favourites. The title track alone is worth the price of the album: Lee Perry, as "Sylvester The Public Jesterer" gets put on trial by the fearsome Judge Winchester. Other high points include the hilarious "I'm A Dread Locks", in which Scratch heaps abuse on a false Rasta ("shut up and get out of my studio!"), the rocking "Stay Dread", and the spooky "Babylon Deh Pon Fire" by Truth Fact And Correct. All of the Leo Graham numbers are also noteworthy, especially the anti-obeah "Black Candle". This is the early Black Ark sound at its best.

« Back to the Compilations index