CD: Uni / Hip-O Records

01. Enter The Dragon - Lee Perry & The Upsetters
02. War Ina Babylon - Max Romeo
03. Small Axe - The Wailers
04. Roots Train - Junior Murvin & Dillinger
05. Vibrate On - Augustus Pablo Meets The Upsetter
06. To Be A Lover - George Faith & Lee Perry
07. Duppy Conqueror - The Wailers
08. Curly Locks - Junior Byles
09. Nickodeemus - The Congos
10. Three In One - The Upsetters
11. Congoman - The Congos
12. Mr. President - The Heptones & Jah Lion
13. Dread Lion - The Upsetters
14. Police And Thieves - Junior Murvin
15. Roast Fish And Cornbread - Lee Perry

Perhaps not the "ultimate" collection, but pretty damn close! Unlike other cursory Scratch collections, this one goes beyond the obvious choices and digs a little deeper with thoughtfully chosen songs. Highlights include the nine minute long disco mix of Junior Murvin's fantastic "Roots Train", as well as the extended mix of George Faith's "To Be A Lover" (featuring scat vocals by Scratch near the end), and the DJ version of "Mr. President" with Jah Lion. This is pretty much all killer, no filler.

« Back to the Compilations index